Six Months!

img_1806Woah. It feels like just yesterday, I was sobbing because I thought I would never be a normal kid again.

I know everyone says that “it feels like just yesterday” thing about every big achievement and everything, but it really does. And maybe it’s because I really haven’t changed that drastically. I mean I’ve grown up a little, because that’s kind of what taking away sugar does to you. But other than that, I’m still the same person. And I got my new labs back, with mostly even better results than before.

This is how I have to live. It’s not ideal, it’s not perfect, and it’s certainly not normal, but it’s part of who I am now. I remember waiting and waiting for the first month of my diet to be over, but now I realize I’m not waiting anymore, because that’s not how life works. I’m persevering, getting stronger, taller and more energetic, and I’m just becoming myself.

4 thoughts on “Six Months!

  1. Wow! Well done! I cannot imagine that I would have been able to face such as challenge as well when I was 12. Actually, I’m not sure I would do so as well now, and I’m 46. 🙂 You sound like an amazing young woman. Yashar koach, may you go from strength to strength (as we say here) and continue to have success. 🙂

    Like

    1. תודה רבה! אני למדתי בבית ספר יהודי אז העברית שלי לא מצוין אבל אני זוכרת קצת מי מה שלמדתי. אני חושבת שכל איש שרוצה או שצריך לעשות את משהוא ש‏חייב לו יכולים להשיג את משצריחים להשיג. י

      Like

  2. Hello Johanna, I am very impressed by this blog and by YOU! You have done so well on this diet and I think that as hard as this is, this is the best “medicine” for you. I will try out some of your recipes so I can better relate. Thank you for sharing your thoughts here. I look forward to seeing you next time and to more postings on this blog. Hugs! Sabine

    Like

Leave a Reply

