Sorry I’m Late!

          I don’t know why this took me so long… Or why I really haven’t posted at all on a weekly basis since somewhere around March. But Camp Oasis really was a highlight of this past year as a Crohn’s patient! It was amazing to see how many people were living lives pretty much just like mine. I mean, there was only one other girl there who was on a diet, and she was kind of the only one who was really similar to me. But it even felt good to be different there.
For example, on the first day of camp, when I walked into my cabin, three girls who went to camp last year were catching up about what had happened when they had been on medicine, what they were taking now, etc. One girl was playing the ukulele. They all looked so content, talking about all the new drugs they’d each had to take that year. At least for five days every year, someone could relate to what they were going through. Then, when I joined their conversation, the girl in the middle, still strumming her ukulele, asked, “so, what medicine are you on?”

I said, “Um, I’m actually not on medicine, I’m on a diet.”

“Oh,” they all said in unison. The girl in the middle had stopped playing her ukulele.

The girl on the left said, ” That’s the worst treatment.”

Okay, I understand that not being able to eat sugar has its disadvantages. I’ve been living that life for close to a year at this point, and it gets pretty tough sometimes. And this wouldn’t have bothered me nearly as much if it hadn’t been for something I’d overheard her saying earlier.

That year, she said, she had been taking Remicade infusions, and gotten psoriasis from it. Like, a serious, actual, skin disease that she now had to take separate medication for.

But at least she can eat whatever she wants, right?

So, that’s why I’m glad that I’m on a diet for Crohn’s, despite the trouble I had to go through to get my food to Camp Oasis. And really, besides that one moment, I had a great time at camp.

How long will it take for people to realize that sometimes, you have to put a little effort in yourself? You can’t just solve Crohn’s by waiting for a cure. You have to give something up for it. And, if that one girl wants to give up her skin, that’s fine with me. But I’d prefer giving up sugar, grains, and lactose instead.

I mean, what would you pick?

One thought on “Sorry I’m Late!

Leave a Reply

